Sage pumpkin stroganoff 

Eat all the pumpkin!!! Ok, I’m not really one of those pumpkin freaks…I haven’t even had a pumpkin spice latte, GASP! But I had some leftover canned pumpkin in the fridge from our pumpkin play clay activity and I needed to use it and it’s the perfect entree for a cool fall evening. 

  
I used to make a pumpkin pasta dish from Rachael Ray ALL the time, because I basically would eat any recipe with pasta in it. But alas, I don’t eat pasta anymore since starting Crossfit and going (mostly) paleo. But I really don’t miss it, makes me BLOATED, and pasta was really just a bloaty, gassy vehicle for the yummy sauce you put on it anyway. 

 Ingredients I used are as follows (if you’ve ever seen my recipes, you should know I don’t measure, anything, so it’s a pinch and a shake here and there):

3/4 can pumpkin

1 can full fat coconut milk

White wine vinegar 

Onion, garlic, s&p, sage, cinnamon, nutmeg

1lb ground deer (any ground meat will work), & 1lb deer sausage (again, any sausage)- I’m married to a hunter so we eat a lot of deer…doesn’t get more organic than killing it yourself!

Parmesan, I used freshly grated

Frozen kale, frozen sweet potato: fresh would work too, I just used what I had. 

Start off by sautéing onion in your choice of grease (salt and pepper it, of course-I’m going to assume you’ve cooked before and skip the little details). Then add garlic, and your meat, season with s&p and a few shakes of dried or chopped fresh sage. 

Once meat is cooked add your coconut milk, a few shakes of white wine bin and pumpkin. Bring to a simmer and add your veggies: kale and sweet potato (if your using fresh sweet potato, simmer long enough to cook it, or microwave before to soften). I then grated some Parmesan & fresh nutmeg and gave it a lot of shakes of cinnamon. I also added some garlic powder and more s&p. 

This would also be REALLY good served over coconut rice. Find a great and easy recipe for that here.  

 
This turned out SO good. Nora also devoured it. We both had seconds!
  

Leave a Reply

