the battle

I’m losing the ‘battle of the crib’.  Since returning home from Mexico, where Nora slept in the bed with us, she has REFUSED to return to her crib; for naps or for nighttime.  This little girl throws a tantrum the moment she is set in it.  And I can’t bear to let her ‘cry it out’, I just can’t do it.  So, she has been sleeping with us, and we are all getting less sleep because of it.  She wakes up every 2-3 hours wanting to nurse (more so to be consoled I think), which obviously wakes me up and occasionally wakes up her daddy.

I know the vacation threw off her routine (which I had established quite well) and I am trying to give her a little time to readjust, but I am hoping I didn’t completely undo all of my efforts of getting her in her crib; not only that but of her putting herself back to sleep.  I was able to lay her in her crib, awake, and she would fall asleep on her own for naps…not anymore.

It breaks my heart to hear her cry like that and I love the way she reaches for me and immediately stops crying when I hold her.  As we lie down on the bed, she rolls into me and grabs tightly to my shirt to make sure I don’t leave.  Although sometimes I do, leaving her asleep in my bed, I wish I could make her understand that I will always be right here when she wakes up and calls for me.  I will never leave her.

As much as I love having her close to me, she’s getting bigger and our bed is getting smaller and we are all a little tired.  I’m hoping this is just a short phase.  I don’t know what else to do.

One thought on “the battle

Leave a Reply

