A day, a lifetime. 

I wake to your whimpers. It’s early. But I don’t mind that anymore. I’d get up at any hour for you. 

I bring you into bed with me; I’ve missed you. Your eyes slowly open and close as you nurse half asleep until you are full. As we lie back down and drift off to sleep, you roll into me and rest your tiny hand on my chest, and now I am full. This love is all encompassing, overwhelming and endless. I could stay in this moment. 

But alas, we wake up a few hours later to start our day together. You and me girl. You are my shadow and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve never enjoyed someone’s company so much; I never tire of it. 



You nap. I clean. You play. I cook.  

We nap.  We clean.  We play. We cook. Best friends are we. We do everything together. Mama’s best friend. 



You still nap best while in my arms. I never pass up the chance to just sit and be with you; hold you until you fall asleep. These days are fleeting and I will embrace them as long as I can.  I hope you too will always find time to be in my arms, if only for a second. 



Before I know it the sun is setting and our day is slowly ending. Daddy arrives home and I love to see you smile and light up when you see him. He does the same. Watching him with you has made me fall in love with him all over again.  I’m in love with our family.  And I fall deeper every day. 











One thought on “A day, a lifetime. 

Leave a Reply

