Family

Last night Nora and I went over to my cousin’s house for dinner (Cory had to work late).   I hadn’t seen my cousin in over a year, and he lives in the same town as us.  It’s a fact I hate to admit and one that makes me rather sad.  My family has never really been the ‘close-knit’ type, although I wish we had been.  I am closer with a lot of Cory’s family members than my own.  So it made me excited when my cousin’s fiancee contacted me to invite me over for dinner.  She mentioned that Jesse, my cousin, had been wanting to get in touch with me and time just got away.  So she took the initiative and I am really glad she did.  We had a great dinner and the company was even better; we laughed and talked and got caught up on each others lives.  They got to meet Nora and I am already planning on having them over for dinner.

Growing up my cousins, Jesse and Luke, and I were fairly close.  Our relationship consisted of sleepovers, playing pretend and when I stayed at their house ‘Donut Day’ (Sunday).  Many of these memories we typically recollect when we see each other.  Not having siblings, it’s nice to recall childhood memories with someone, because although I didn’t see them all the time they were like my brothers.

I am really excited to rekindle my relationship with my cousin and I hope to stay closer in touch as we both expand our own families.  Maybe we can be the ‘close-knit’ family after all.

One thought on “Family

  1. I’m so glad you were able to get together with them! I always get frustrated at how much effort it takes to drive to my family in Colorado or fly out to Oregon for my in-laws but once we’re all together, it’s always worth it. It’s always worth that extra effort. And how lucky will Nora be to grow up hearing those stories of when her mother was a child! Glad it was a nice night.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

