Doctor, doctor

Nora and I had a busy day today.

It started off with an eye appointment for me.  Funny (but not funny) story there.  Early Sunday morning I woke up and had dry eyes and reached over to out some eye drops in, only I mistook my eye drops bottle for a bottle of lavender essential oil and proceeded to put that in my eye.  It took me a minute to figure out why my eye drops were stinging so badly, when I realized what I had done.  I rushed to the hall closet and luckily we had a bottle of saline and I flushed my eye for about an hour.  It stung.  Bad.  In the midst of this, I am trying to nurse Nora, while trying to stay calm hoping I am not going to go blind, while Cory holds a towel to my face and pours more saline in.  I tried to go back to sleep for a bit to no avail, it hurt to open or close my eye.  My eye was swollen, red, irritated and blurry.  I was really scared I had done irreversible damage.  Luckily, my friend is an optometrist and got me in today and reassured me I didn’t do permanent damage, just an abrasion and a bruise ( a bruise on an eye is not a pretty thing).  And yesterday and today it has felt much better, phew.  I am so thankful that it was lavender oil and not peppermint or cinnamon.  #dodgedabullet

After my appointment we met with my wonderful friend Carisse for some lunch at The Cottage.  One of my favorite places to eat; yummy food and a relaxed atmosphere.

IMG_4779
Momma’s lunch date
IMG_4780
It was bright at the Cottage, and she is her father’s daughter who manages to blink in every picture. #likefatherlikedaughter

After lunch we had Nora’s 6 month check up.  All is good and she is growing well.  She had to get 4 shots!! But she was a trooper, she cried while getting them but as soon as I picked her up she was fine and dandy.  Normally she only gets three shots, but I opted for the flu shot since we will be flying next month and airplanes are basically cesspools of germs.

Nora was asleep before I had even pulled out of the doctor’s office.  It was a busy and fun day.  We finally have a good eating/sleeping schedule figured out which makes me comfortable with running errands and not stressing out about Nora while we are out.

2 thoughts on “Doctor, doctor

Leave a Reply

