No Sleep ‘Til….

I know everyone who listens to Beastie Boys, just yelled “BROOKLYN!”
Anywho…I’m looking for my wonderful sleeping daughter: you know, the one who for the first week in her crib slept ALL night. What happened to her?? I don’t know if it’s because she hasn’t felt well lately, or she’s learning ‘object permanence‘ or what, but this child does not want to sleep for more than 3-4 hours and not in her crib.
Since she has had her cold and the night I was a zombie from getting up 100 times, I have brought her into bed with me so both of us can get some rest. I know I shouldn’t be ‘caving to her demands’ because she is calm as soon as I pick her up and bring her to bed, BUT I enjoy sleep and I enjoy a well-rested baby. But I know this can’t go on forever. But in not gonna lie I love looking over and seeing her tiny little body, arms overhead, with my Tshirt on that I had when I was a baby, her legs flung over mine, sleeping so sweetly.
I’m considering doing a ‘cry it out‘ method, leaning more towards Ferberization, but honestly I’m just confused. I know for a fact I will not be able to let her cry for a long period of time. I just couldn’t bear it.
This method also touches on losing the pacifier at bedtime (which is a big part of what makes her cry when it falls out of her mouth); so that will be one attempt. It won’t be easy, and I’ll have to deal with some crying and sleeplessness; what’s more worth it: sleep now and risking my child never wanting to leave my bed, or dealing with crying and potentially a week (or longer) of not sleeping.
Part of it too is her wanting to be with me. Because once I pick her up and bring her to bed with me she is usually ok, but still only sleeping for 3-4 hour stints.
Last night as I lay her in her crib (awake: rather than laying her down after she’s fallen asleep) shushing and rubbing her hair, she grabbed so tightly on to my arm as if to say ‘don’t go momma’. It broke my heart. And I stood there, arms tingling and falling asleep as I lean over the crib. I stayed there until she fell asleep and left. To be woken an hour later. Help!

IMG_4605
Napping in my arms. I’ll get it where I can.

One thought on “No Sleep ‘Til….

  1. Oh Mama! It will get better, I promise. With my kids, I’ve always seen a regression after they get sick, go through growth spurts, travel, have a long break from routine. Decide what you want and then stick to your guns. It’s easier to break a new routine than to try to fix a broken one a year from now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

