Homemade

I’m very much in to health and fitness, especially eating healthy.  I mainly eat paleo (the link explains paleo a bit more for those interested) and I try to eat as clean as possible–little to no processed foods, organic when necessary (not all foods/produce need to be organic), whole ingredients.  I try to home make as much as I can.  Lately I have made lemon raspberry dummies (good for the gut); they were a little different than I expected but pretty good, I try to eat one a day.

IMG_3956

I also try and keep my freezer stocked with bone broth; either chicken or beef.  When I remember I drink a warm mug of it (good for immunity, your gut and so much more) and I also cook with it.  Its so easy to make, especially if you do in the crockpot (a little tip from my friend Sarah-thanks).  You can through in anything you like. I do: leftover chicken bones or purchased beef femur bones, onions (cut in quarters, you don’t have to peel), carrots, celery, garlic, peppercorns (leave whole or your stock may be very spicy/peppery), a good amount of salt, and any herbs you like (I do thyme and parsley usually–I normally use dried as I don’t always have fresh on hand). Yum Yum!

IMG_4148
All stocked up

My daily ‘coffee’ is a bulletproof coffee.  Although I don’t drink a lot of coffee anymore, I still make it the same.  A bulletproof coffee is blended with a good spoonful of coconut oil and a good spoonful of grass-fed butter.  I make my morning drink with vanilla spiced tea, ‘Mother’s Milk’ tea (gotta keep my supply up), and a splash of Almond Milk Pumpkin Spice Latteand a big spoonful of coconut oil (be sure to blend or use brother after adding the coconut oil or it will just sit on top-it makes a nice frothy drink).  I’ve omitted the butter as I typically eat it with/on something else during the day (plus I have high cholesterol-go figure- so I try not to eat too much).  Coconut oil is a healthy fat: it’s satiating, tastes good, good for immunity and many other uses besides eating (look it up!).

IMG_4147
Nora wanted some too
6 thoughts on “Homemade

  1. High fives!! I’ve been doing mostly Paleo since I did my first Whole 30 in March. I just feel so much better when I eat well. Of course, things have taken a nose dive during the holiday season… looking forward to getting rid of the junk at home and work. I’ve heard a lot about bulletproof coffee but I’ve yet to try it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve tried the bulletproof coffee and didn’t l like it at all 😦
    But I do like starting the day with a nice hot mug of bone broth 🙂
    I make broth in the slow cooker (rice cooker!) and keep it going day and night for about a week at a time, then I clean it out and start a new batch. Makes it easy to remember to drink it daily b/c it is right there, already hot. And if any one of us gets sick, it’s great for helping boost that immunity. 🙂

    Like

    1. Anytime i make a bulletproof, i still sweeten it, ususally with maple syrup. I never thought abouy leaving the broth continually cooking, thanks for the tip, I’ll have to try it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

