No Baby, No Cry

We’ve been trying out this whole ‘nap in the crib’ thing.  It’s been going ok; about half of Nora’s naps have been in the crib.  She usually goes down pretty well.  Sometimes I have to stand by the crib and soothe her a little bit.  There have been a few times that she wasn’t quite asleep and I left the room, only to have her fuss (usually when she drops her paci).  I TRIED my hardest to let her cry it out…I could handle the whining and whimpering but once she started crying I just couldn’t do it.  It doesn’t feel right to me to just let her lie there and cry.  I see tears rolling down her cheeks and it just tears me up.  So I pick her up and soothe her and sometimes let her fall asleep in my arms.  I may be setting myself up for a disaster (especially trying to get her to sleep in the crib at night), but I just can’t find it in my heart to leave her in her crib crying.

I too have been trying to let her fall asleep in her swing, pretty much trying to get  her to fall asleep anywhere but in my arms.  Eventually she does fall asleep, but if I am not holding her, her naps are 30 minutes, almost to the very minute.

Trying to figure out what’s best for your child, not only now but down the road, is  a hard, daily battle.  I’m always second guessing myself, oven-anazlying my decisions, and researching online to what other parents have done.  I keep telling myself: 1. she’s only 3.5 months old, 2. I’m doing my best, 3. follow my intuition.

IMG_3868
Finally sleeping in her swing
One thought on “No Baby, No Cry

Leave a Reply

