Schedule

Today begins my day of starting a schedule for Miss Nora (keep me in your thoughts).  I’m nursing and napping (trying to) at specific times to get into a routine.  Not only are routines good for babies but it will help keep me sane and hopefully get me out of the house more!!  I am starting to get a little stir-crazy.  Going places has made me nervous because I am not sure how Nora will do, it gives me anxiety to think that she may just start crying in the middle of a store.  I know I wouldn’t be the first mom in history for that to happen to, but if I can avoid it, I will.

I am also trying (maybe that should be my post name TRY TRY TRY) to get Nora to sleep in her crib.  Yesterday she took a nap for about 30 minutes in her crib, with me rocking her to sleep first then placing her in there.  I’d like to start with one a nap a day, then graduate to all naps then the dreaded bedtime (maybe more scary for me than her).  For now I feel safer with her next to me at night, and for the most part she does sleep fairly well–but I stir at almost every sound she makes and continually give her back her pacifier to soothe her.  I’m giving myself a week of this schedule and attempted crib times before I change anything.  I am one to get frustrated if something doesn’t work the first time, and I have to remember that things are different in motherhood and take time to be successful.

I’m trying to do what’s best for Nora.  We tried another nap (this time with her awake) in her crib today but she just cried and fussed and I can’t stand leaving her like that. So I, once again, put her in the carrier and out she went, for over an hour.  Short naps make for cranky baby come bedtime so I try and get them any way I can (for now).

I tell myself, she’s only 3 months old; she feels safe, warm and comfortable with me; I’m doing my best.  But then I overthink: Am I starting bad habits; will she only ever nap if I’m not holding her, will she ever sleep in her crib??  It’s hard to know what’s right and what works until you ‘trial and error’ it.  I do know I am working on doing what I think is right for my child, and I guess that’s all I can really ask of myself.

IMG_3775
First nap in her crib
IMG_3760
That face though!
2 thoughts on “Schedule

  1. 1. You’re not creating bad sleep habits but you ARE making healthy choices for all three of you. Remember, Cory is probably feeling like a third wheel right these days. Nothing about a baby sleeping in the room feels like “business time.” (Flight of the Conchords? Youtube it.)
    2. You’re the boss. Remember that.
    3. Just when you think you’ve got it all figured out, they’ll change the game on you.
    4. When you get frustrated or overwhelmed, remember the airplane rule: You must help yourself before helping others. It’s ok to put yourself first (ie go pee before running to the crying baby) because in the long run, if you’re not happy and fulfilled, no one will be. And crying builds lung strength and capacity.

    Like

    1. Oh yeah, I know Business time, when I leave my socks on…it’s business time 🙂
      Thank you, not only for the encouragement but the advice. I do tend to RUN immediately to Nora when she is crying and I know if I continue that she will never help herself or soothe herself. This motherhood stuff sure is trying, and its a mental battle with yourself; constantly second guessing or wondering if you are doing it right. But I guess in the end there is no ‘right’ answer. I will admit, I am trying TOO hard to be perfect at this…I’ve never been perfect at anything, but usually excel well at things I do; and not that I am failing at motherhood, I guess I just think that if my baby is upset I have to fix it RIGHT NOW!

      Like

Leave a Reply

