How long will I love you

The day we brought our daughter home, I was excited, overjoyed, happy, and you could say a little nervous.  Not even nervous that I didn’t know what I was doing, just nervous that this little human solely relied on us for everything; food, shelter, love, life, health.  I obviously don’t know everything that I am doing, but I know I am doing my best for what is right for my daughter

While Nora sat in her swing a few nights after bringing her home, I sat in front of her staring, and I began to cry.  Tears PURELY for joy; the overwhelming and consuming love I felt for this beautiful, perfect little girl, how much I appreciated this little family we were growing.  Cory walked downstairs with worry in his eyes, ‘Are you ok?!?!’.  ‘Yes, I am completely ok.  I am better than ok.’  There are still random moments in the day that I tear up just looking at her.

I never knew motherhood would feel like this.  And I guess you can’t know the feeling until you experience it.  It is one of the best things that has ever happened to me.  I know I am not perfect, but this role suits me and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Calming her when she is upset, rocking her to sleep, watching her smile in her sleep; these are the things that now comfort me and make me feel whole.

When I fell in love with my husband I never thought I could love another person as much as I do him.  And while my love never faltered for him, I now have this other person who stole my heart and she will soon call me mom.

How long will I love you?
As long as stars are above you
And longer, if I can.
How long will I need you?
As long as the seasons need to
Follow their plan.

How long will I be with you?
As long as the sea is bound to
Wash upon the sand.

How long will I want you?
As long as you want me to
And longer by far.
How long will I hold you?
As long as your father told you,
As long as you can.

How long will I give to you?
As long as I live through you
However long you say.

How long will I love you?
As long as stars are above you
And longer, if I may.

We’re all traveling through time together
Every day of our lives.
All we can do is do our best
To relish this remarkable ride.

One thought on “How long will I love you

Leave a Reply

